Recovered my dead / bricked acer aspire one

Had the Windows 7 Release Candidate on my Acer Aspire One, in the process of trying to reinstall XP from a USB key I ended up bricking my machine. Luckily I found the solution on this web page , my exact steps were:

I downloaded the latest BIOS from Acer Taiwan here here.

Freshly formatted a USB key to FAT32.

Copied the 3 files (3310.fd, flashit.exe, 3310.bat) to the USB key.

Renamed 3310.fd to ZG5IA32.fd, renamed 3310.bat to ZG5IA32.bat, and changed the contents of the batch file (ZG5IA32.bat) to point to ZG5IA32.fd

Put the USB key in the left side USB port

With the netbook off, held down FN+ESC, turned on laptop, released FN+ESC when the power light started flashing, pressed the power button once, and the USB key started flashing for about 1 minute and then the laptop rebooted. Fixed!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recovered my dead / bricked acer aspire one

  1. drwhat says:

    Wow, it worked. I was surprised! I thought my aspire one was seriously bricked. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

